Skip to main content

The Black Keys

#Managers contacts, #Book an artist, #Performance cost, #Live show, #Private party, #Concert organization

  • The Black Keys was formed in Akron, Ohio in 2001. The musicians play indie-rock, blues-rock, and garage rock. The group only has two members, a vocalist and guitar player, Dan Auerbach and a drummer, Patrick Carney. The two artists met when they were still children. They attended the same school and lived in the same neighborhood. When they were in high school, the aspiring musicians arranged jam sessions at home. Dan played the guitar while Patrick learned how to play the drums. After school, both young men enrolled in a local university but dropped out soon after. The artists realized that they should devote their lives to music. Dan decided to record a demo album. With Patrick, they worked in the basement to create their first songs. After some time, the musicians recorded a demo with six tracks, which they sent to different recording studios. After some time, artists got an offer from a small label, Alive in Los Angeles. The artist immediately signed a contract.

    In 2002, Dan and Patrick recorded their first LP, which was fairly successful but didn’t make it into the chart. The album, The Big Come Up, was recorded in Carney’s basement. Soon the artists came up with the name for the group, The Black Keys. The single featured in the debut LP, "I’ll Be Your Man", later became a soundtrack for an HBO TV Series, Hung. Then their song “The Breaks” became a soundtrack to Guy Ritchie’s RocknRolla.

    In April 2003, the band presented a new LP, Thickfreakness. Again, part of it was recorded in the basement of one of the members. Critics gave the album high scores. The LP included several successful singles, such as Hard Row", "Set You Free", and a cover for the song, "Have Love, Will Travel". The album made it into the UK Albums Chart and settled on the 182nd spot.

    The third LP came out in 2004. The artists called it Rubber Factory. The album was recorded in an empty factory in Akron. It brought the band even more popularity. The LP was the group’s first project to appear in Billboard 200. The single "10 A.M. Automatic" became a soundtrack for several movies. At that time, many fans tried to book The Black Keys for private events, but the artists were busy with studio work.

    In May 2006, the musicians recorded an EP, Chulahoma: The Songs of Junior Kimbrough, which featured covers for the songs of an American artist, Junior Kimbrough. In a few days, the band presented a live album, Live in Austin, TX. Soon, musicians released their 4th LP, Magic Potion. It was recorded with the assistance of a new label, Nonesuch Records.

  • In April 2008, the group presented a new LP, Attack & Release. The album was more successful than its predecessors, reaching the 14th spot of Billboard 200 and earning gold status from RIAA. The best singles featured in the LP were "I Got Mine", "Same Old Thing", and "Strange Times".

    In November 2008, The Black Keys released a video of its performance in Portland, Live at the Crystal Ballroom. The next album came out in 2010. The artists called it Brothers. It featured 15 new songs. The LP sold over 70,000 copies in the first week, climbed to the third spot of Billboard 200 and earned two platinum certifications in the USA.

    In 2011, young artists were nominated for five Grammy Awards. They won two prizes, for Best Alternative Music Album and for Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal.

    In the spring of 2011, The Black Keys started working on a new album. El Camino came out a few months later. The LP earned positive reviews from fans and critics. It became even more popular than Brothers. The album came in second on Billboard 200 and sold over 200,000 copies in one week.

    In 2014, the artists presented their new LP Turn Blue, recorded with the assistance of a producer Danger Mouse. After the release, the band took a break. Both members started working on solo projects.

    In 2019, the artists reunited and recorded a new single, "Lo / Hi". Soon after, they toured the USA and Canada with Modest Mouse. In the summer, The Black Keys released a new album, Let's Rock. It featured 12 new songs among which were, "Eagle Birds", "Lo/Hi", and "Tell Me Lies". The album appeared in the top-10 of American, British, Canadian, and several European charts.

Our Contacts:
Phone: +442036952462
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Stay contected

© 1999-2024 Booking Stars Ltd.: Booking & Touring Agency. All right reserved.
Back to Top